The blog of discontent

After 9/11 the first country we invaded was Afghanistan to ‘allegedly’ take down the Taliban. Before 9/11 the Taliban made opium cultivation illegal and threw the farmers in jail, now Afghanistan is the largest producer of opium in the world.

A few years ago I lived in a rough part of town. I was often asked by sad heroin addict’s if I’d like to buy loot they had just shoplifted so they could pursue their next fix. Some of them weren’t much more than kids. There was this one man that used to walk past me with a dark almost demonic look in his eyes. He reminded me of a wild animal that you didn’t want to look in the eye for fear of attack. He crossed my path quite often. I realised by his eye’s he was an addict but I had no idea that he was going home to abuse his step son. The poor child was found with many fractured bones and cigarette burns, he died later from his injuries and the heroin addict step father was sentenced to prison.

What I am trying to say is that I know that there are many children that have suffered terribly through war and no fault of their own. But heroin also robs children in this country too, some go hungry and without love and some even loose their lives.

The undeniable truth is that we are all in this bloody awful mess together.

And it’s always the innocent that suffer the worst.

This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

