The Oath of Allegiance that the soldiers take upon joining the British Army goes like this,

Those who believe in God use the following words:

"I swear by Almighty God that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, her heirs and successors and that I will as in duty bound honestly and faithfully defend Her Majesty, her heirs and successors in person, crown and dignity against all enemies and will observe and obey all orders of Her Majesty, her heirs and successors and of the generals and officers set over me."

I read the Universal Declaration of Human Rights today.

I only got to article number four before I questioned to myself since Britain was a signatory of the Declaration – at what point did our soldiers as members of humanity have to give up their human rights in the service of our Majesty? I thought the entire point of the declaration was to see that oppressive tyrants never rule again? I printed off a copy today and got out my highlighting pen to mark each of mine that have been denied. Perhaps it’s something our troops could do on those long and fearful nights to take their mind off the terrible situation they have found themselves in?

I like the declaration of human rights however as the Generals you serve appear to have broke about every single one of them I’d seriously think about reporting them to the police in the hope that we may all live in a free and fairer country and world. Britain took an oath to honour those rights in that declaration. The declaration was designed to stop War Criminals in their tracks. Everyday slowly but surely those rights are being taken away one by one from each and every one of her citizens.

Shouldn’t her army and police force above all else have the right to take them back? Especially since our army has been denied so many themselves by the very Generals that give them the orders?

Maybe the American and Israeli army could think about their Generals too. Maybe if we could live in a fair constitution that respects human rights and serves the will of our people and not our Generals and the bankers they work for, the rest of the world would stand half a chance?

This declaration is not about the contentious issues the UN has since undertook. It is about the human spirit on which it was formed.

I declare it is my right as a human being to share these thoughts with you.

Thank you for not taking the rights I have left away from me altogether.

Universal Declaration of Human Rights;

http://www.un.org/Overview/rights.html 

I downloaded these two pictures today as I was looking up imperialism;

I have my own doubts about the American maps 2006 version – read the rest of my blog and you will work out why.

 

This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

